Have You Thought of Cauliflower Flakes as a Substitute for Rice?

This whole blogging activity has got me touch with lots of healthy food-lovers across the globe. Many readers come up with useful tips and suggestions, that has inspired me to research further and try out new stuff.

Recently one of my readers, Betty suggested cauliflower flakes as a good substitute for rice. Since cauliflower has a low glycemic index, it suits both diabetics and people on diet.

I made cauliflower flakes and my husband had it with daal, just as people have normal rice with daal.It really turned out to be very tasty. Cauliflower flakes go well with sambar,rasam or even chole and rajma . Thanks to Betty for suggesting a wonderful recipe especially for diabetics.

The recipe is simple.

Choose a medium sized cauliflower.

Cut the cauliflower into pieces and grate the cauliflower pieces completely.

You should grate in such a fashion that you get flakes as shown below:

Now take the cauliflower flakes in a cooking vessel and boil it with just enough water and salt. Remember not to pour excess water. The cauliflower flakes must not get overcooked.

When you cook the cauliflower flakes to the right extent, it appears just like cooked rice.

Here I have made chole to go with cauliflower flakes. You can choose to have it with any gravy 🙂

6 Responses to Have You Thought of Cauliflower Flakes as a Substitute for Rice?

  1. shoba says:

    Shardhaji

    This idea is really cool, got to try this thank you & betty for the awesome idea
    Shoba

  2. LALITHA says:

    Mami, Hema Chithi asked me to see your recipes today as I told her that I have fasti8ng sugar 175 and PP sugar 225. I shall follow your Diabetic recipes and chithi also told me many ways to eat tasty food without using rice and chappatis. This cauliflower flakes seems to be good i shall try it out soon.

  3. Great way for many to maintain their weight. 100 grams of cauliflower gives only 30 calories. A great way to eat full stomach with lesser calories

  4. trupti says:

    this is great…..I’ve tried mashed cauliflower in lieu of mashed potatoes, they tasted wonderful. Nice site, I’ll be back to read more.

    cheers,trupti
    the spice who loved me

  5. spicymiss says:

    Very innovative. Thanks for the recipe. I will check this out.

    Jaya
    http://dashofmasala.wordpress.com

  6. gesttroulge says:

    Great job, you’ve helped me so much and I am so glad I have chosen your service.

    http://www.ilovelewisburg.com/hard-tasks-goes-away-with-samedayessay-com.cfm – essay writing help in samedayessay.com

Leave a Reply

